My Favorite Post-Workout Drink

7 May

Happy Monday everyone!  I thought I’d do a quick post on this fantastic concoction I made up to fuel my body post-workout.  The thing I love most about it is that you can tailor it to exactly what you’re in the mood for that day.  As a rule of thumb I strongly urge people to stay away from smoothie chains such as Jamba Juice.  They use way too much sugar and processed gunk and it cancels out all the good benefits and besides the average smoothie there is like 800 calories! Yuck!  Better off controlling what goes in it!

Yummy!

Post Workout Power Smoothie:

– 1 scoop of designer whey protein (I use strawberry)

– ice (the more you add the thicker it is)

– approx. 1/2 cup of Orange Juice

– 2 tbsp of Flax Seed Oil

– 2 tbsp of fiber

– Whatever fruit suits your fancy and you can get in there! (both frozen and fresh)

Whip it all together for a refreshing and healthy drink post-workout.  I use a magic bullet so I just fill it all in the cup and that’s how I “measure”.  I feel that this give you the right amount of protein, carbs, and sugar to help your body recover from a tough workout.  I’ve also experimented with adding veggies, V8, among other things to the mix, with varied success, but the recipe above is my tried and true.  My suggestion to you is to just explore till you find the combination that leaves you feeling your best!

Let me know what your favorite post-workout drink/smoothie/food is!

Keep Sweating!

Leave a Reply

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

voxifit

The Voice of Fitness Blog

Sorta Ginger

Ramblings of a Quasi-Redhead

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

Lavender Parking

Enjoying Life One Post-Race Pint at a Time

Medal Slut

Ticking off local races one medal at a time.

The Weight Loss Counter Revolution

Dedicated to giving you the truth about weight loss.

Eat.Live.Blog

Bringing New England to the table!

Tyler and Lisa Brown's Flow

Flow: an authentically happy state of engaged activity that supremely interests you, challenges you, and occasionally makes time melt away

